School of Theatre Outstanding Contributors

The School of Theatre is proud to recognize outstanding contributors that reach across the profession to include artists, educators, and valued supporters of the UNCG School of Theatre.

School of Theatre Distinguished Alumni

The School of Theatre annually recognizes alumni whose careers represent and reflect our mission statement of transforming a passion for the arts into a lifelong purpose.
Visit this page to nominate someone for the WC Legacy Award, Minerva Award for Distinguished Service, Young Alumni Award, Professional Achievement Award, or the McIver Lifetime Achievement Award. Visit this page to see a breakdown of the awards.


Ed Simpson, BA in speech and drama from Guilford College, and an MFA in acting and directing from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
He is Professor Emeritus from the Department of Theatre and Dance at Indiana University of Pennsylvania where he taught acting, directing, and playwriting from 1980 to 2006.
From 2006 to 2018, he was Professor of Theatre and Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance at High Point University.
Joseph Forbes Joe Forbes, Founder, Scenic Arts Studios, the premier scene painting studio for Broadway shows.

The company has painted more than 300 Broadway shows including The Prom, Tootsie, The Band’s Visit, School of Rock, Carousel, Hello Dolly.

Hugh Hysell, Tony Award winning producer, marketer, actor, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting
Bonnie Becker, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Design & Theatre Technology (1976)
Susan E. Mickey, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Costume Design (1977)
Chris Chalk, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting (2014)

School of Theatre Hall of Fame

The School of Theatre Hall of Fame recognizes persons who have dedicated their lives to the belief that the theatre arts and theatre arts education may serve as a foundation to the success of their graduates wherever their career paths may lead.

William Raymond Taylor (1895 – 1976)
Founder of the Playlikers and Parkway Playhouse, Director of the Drama
Program 1921 – 1952.
Mutt Burton W.C. “Mutt” Burton (1907 – 1995)
Classic “townsman” who acted in College and University productions over a fifty
year career.
Anne Pitoniak (1922 – 2007)
Talented professional actor of stage and screen. 1943 graduate of the Woman’s
Kathy England Kathryn England (1911 – 1975)
Distinguished teacher and director, an expert in voice and diction.
Betty Jean Jones (1949 – 1996)
Gifted teacher, scholar, and artist; 1978 graduate of the M.F.A. program in
Tom Behm
Dedicated teacher, mentor, administrator and artist. Founder of the North
Carolina Theatre for Young People.
Beth Leavel
Distinguished professional actor of New York’s Broadway; 2006 Tony Award
Winner, 1980 graduate of UNCG.
Herman Middleton Herman Middleton
Visionary administrator, educator, and director. Head of the Drama and Speech
Department 1956 – 1974.
David Batcheller David Batcheller
Dedicated educator, artist, and administrator, Director of UNCG Theatre and
founder of the Summer Repertory Theatre.
Marian Smith Marian Smith
Distinguished alumni and community supporter, Executive Director of the
Southeastern Theatre Conference.
Andreas Nomikos Andreas Nomikos
Distinguished international artist, designer, and teacher; a mentor to many
generations of design students.
Emily H. Preyer
Distinguished alumni and founder of the Theatre Angels.
Mary Settle Sharpe on horse Mary Settle Sharpe (1863 – 1944)
First dramatics coach and pioneer teacher of elocution and expression.
Pam & David Sprinkle
Visionary benefactors of the School of Theatre including New York Showcase, musical theatre, and renovation of the Pam and David Sprinkle Theatre.
Robert C. Hansen
Administrator, teacher, artist, scholar, and benefactor.
John Lee Jellicorse
Visionary guide of theatre expansion and development while serving as Head of Communication and Theatre and later Director of the Theatre Division.