Guest Artists and Lecturers

Every year the School of Theatre hosts international and national guest artists from every spectrum of professional and educational theatre to work closely with theatre majors and minors. Guest artists work on productions, develop new work, offer weekend workshops, or serve as semester long guest artist(s) in-residence. Recent guest artists include:

2019 – 2020



  • Managing Director of Triad Stage since its inception. Rich earned an MFA in Theatre Management from the Yale School of Drama and has a BFA in Acting and Directing from Marymount Manhattan College. In 2007, Rich was appointed by the Governor to serve on the board of the NC Arts Council, where he is currently a member of the Executive Committee.

Heather Young

  • Heather Clara Young has worked in the field of arts management for over twenty- five years. Her experience includes leadership roles with a variety of arts and heritage service organizations, theatre and dance production companies, galleries and museums, facilities, festivals and community organizations, in both professional and volunteer capacities.
Jay Bushman

Jay Bushman

  • multi-Emmy winning writer and producer of interactive entertainment and a pioneer of transmedia storytelling, with a track record of pushing the boundaries of next-generation entertainment.
Amy Da Luz

Amy Da Luz

  • Amy’s latest play, COMING BACK FOR ME, was recently selected for the 2019 UNCG New Theatre Concepts Lab. Amy joined the UNCG Theatre Department and other guest artists for a 10 day residency in August of 2019.
Kelvin Dinkins

Kelvin Dinkins, Jr.

  • Assistant Dean and Lecturer in Theater Management for Yale School of Drama, General Manager of Yale Repertory Theatre

2018 – 2019

Photo by Kristina Bumphrey/StarPix/REX/Shutterstock (10031896ae) Chris Chalk PaleyLive Presents - 'Gotham', New York, USA - 12 Dec 2018

Chris Chalk

  • Chris Chalk is an American television, film, and theatre actor. He is particularly known for his roles in the film Detroit, and the television mini-series Central Park Five. He is also known as journalist Gary Cooper in The Newsroom, Marine Tom Walker in Homeland, and murderer Jody Adair in Justified. He has also been in multiple Law & Order episodes, the 2013 film 12 Years a Slave, and the 2010 Broadway play Fences. He has appeared in Gotham as a young Lucius Fox. Photo by Kristina Bumphrey/StarPix/REX/Shutterstock
Bill Adams

Bill J. Adams, DMA

  • Bill J. is an Art Song specialist, opera and musical theatre performer, and arts educator and administrator. Bill J is an Estill Voice International and Acting with Archetypes Certified Master Teacher. Presently, Bill J. coordinates the performing arts programs in the Department of Performing and Visual Arts at Nova Southeastern University where he is an associate professor.
Joseph Forbes

Joe Forbes

  • Broadway, Founder Scenic Art Studios, the premier scene painting studio for Broadway shows.

Erica Jensen

  • CSA, Calleri Casting, NYC
Michael Gennaro

Michael Gennaro

  • Executive Director, Goodspeed Musicals
Keith Martin

Keith Martin

  • John M. Blackburn Distinguished Professor of Theatre, Appalachian State University, Career includes producing and management in professional theatre, dance, opera, symphony, film and television. Emmy® award recipient in 2010. Producer and Managing Director of Charlotte Repertory Theatre (LORT, 1990-2001)
Lily Ling

Lily Ling

  • Associate Conductor, Hamilton Philip Tour New York: John & Jen (Off-Broadway revival), Carousel (Workshop at New York City Ballet dir. Michael Berresse), Atlantis (Reading dir. Chris Gattelli), Whiskeyland (Reading), The Lion King (Shanghai, Chinese language premiere), A Gentleman’s Guide To Love and Murder(Shanghai, Asia and Chinese language premiere).
Amber Flores

Amber Flores

  • Director of Development – Foundation & Annual Giving, Gallo Center for the Arts, California

Stephanie Yankwitt, C.S.A.

    Suzan Zeder

    Suzan Zeder

    • Multiple award-winning, internationally produced playwright, Medallion Award for Lifetime Achievement, Children's Theatre Foundation of America; Wiley and the Hairy Man, When She Had Wings, Step on a Crack.

    Shawn Schepps

    • Award-winning writer of film and television. You and I, Drumline, That Darn Cat, Encino Man; supervising producer of Showtime's Weeds
    Sue Frost

    Sue Frost

    • Tony Award winning producer of Come From Away, and Memphis. Also produced The Rink, and La Cage Aux Folles
    Hackney portrait

    Calandra Hackney

    • Actors Equity Association, Agency Representative, NYC, Director
    Alan Alda

    Alan Alda

    • Award winning Actor, Director, and Screenwriter
    Ben Holbrook

    Ben Holbrook

    • Brooklyn-based playwright and filmmaker awarded the Edward Albee Foundation fellowship, and is the inaugural recipient of the Peter Shaffer Award for Excellence in Playwriting

    Brian Quijada

    • Actor, playwright, musician, Jeff Award winner, two-time Drama Desk Nominee.
    Ryan Moller

    Ryan J. Moller

    • New York based award winning Costume Designer. Credits include The Metropolitan Opera, Broadway Cares Equity Fights AIDS, Sante Fe Opera, Norwegian Cruise Lines. Member: USA 829, IATSE 764



    Jane Unger

    • Founding Artistic Director Profile Theatre, Portland Oregon

    Fred Abrahamse

    • Producer, Stage Director, Abrahamse and Meyer Productions

    Lauren Warhol Caldwell

    • Artistic Director of the Hippodrome Theatre

    Edurne Rankin García

    • Artistic Director, Actor, Designer, La Llave Maestra Visual Theatre, Santiago de Chile, Chile

    Moses Goldberg

    • Producing Director, STAGE ONE: The Louisville Children’s Theatre (Louisville, KY), 1978- 2003 (retired); Author

    Thomas Keith

    • Dramaturg, Advisor Tennessee Williams Festival, Pace University

    James McManus

    • Playwright, Member New Dramatists

    Alvaro Morales Lifschitz

    • Artistic Director, Producer, Actor, La Llave Maestra Visual Theatre, Santiago de Chile, Chile

    Marcel Meyer

    • Producer, Actor, Designer, Abrahamse and Meyer Productions, South Africa
    Winston Sims portrait

    Winston Sims

    • Theatre Arts Teacher, Actor, Director, Marvin Ridge High School, Union County Schools
    scott wojcik

    Scott Wojcik

    • Wojcik | Seay Casting LLC, New York
    Beth Leavel

    Beth Leavel

    • Stage and screen actress and singer. Recipient of the Tony Award for Drowsy Chaperone