Funded Opportunities

The Art Department has the following scholarships available:

  • Mary Cochrane Austin (Art Education majors only; need-based)
  • Maud Gatewood (Painting Majors only; not need-based)
  • Elizabeth Jastrow (recommended for Art History majors)
  • Fred C. Pierce Memorial (can be awarded to a sophomore in any art discipline; awarded each year until graduation)
  • Myrtle Reeves (Art majors only)

To be eligible for a scholarship, you must fill out an Art Department scholarship application form and be at least a rising sophomore. If you are a transfer student, you are eligible to apply for a scholarship after one year of study as an Art major. All scholarship recipients must have a GPA of 3.0 or above. For need-based scholarships, you must complete a FAFSA (Free Application for Financial Aid) application, which can be completed electronically.

Scholarships are awarded once annually. Scholarship applications are due in the Art Office by the end of February each year. Please check the financial aid webpage for additional information on each of these scholarships.

The School of Art awarded over $28,000 in undergraduate scholarships for the 2016-2017 Academic Year. Applications for scholarships are open to all currently enrolled students. The application process opens at the beginning of the Spring semester and closes at the end of February. Information about these opportunities is available via email, the School of Art website, and the School of Art Facebook page. See the scholarship application form.

Award and Scholarship Recipients

The School of Art congratulates the following students who have received award and scholarship funding:

Mary Cochrane Austin Art Scholarship

Maud Gatewood Scholarship

  • A Joy Chalmers
  • Emily Hobgood
  • Maria Colamarino
  • Katherine Allison

Happy Dubose “Kenan” Gray Scholarship

  • Paula Damasceno De Oliveira
  • Alexandra Romero
  • Cassidy Burel
  • Holly Simmons
  • Sidney Lee
  • Jiyoung Park
  • Krista Culpeper
  • Emily Burch
  • William Yarbrough

Dr. Elisabeth Jastrow Scholarship

  • Alexandra Romero
  • Katelin Knight
  • Eliza Rosebrock

Fred C. Pierce Memorial Scholarship

  • Eliza Rosebrock

Myrtle Spaugh Reeves Art Scholarship

  • Anna Rafalowski
  • Juliette Guerrero
  • Morgan Goodwin
  • Asia Mohan
  • Christina Rankin

Betsey Ryder Shelley Scholarship

  • Katelin Knight
  • Emily Hobgood
  • Jennifer Smith
  • Brittany Thomas
  • Amelia Powers
  • Melodie Pardue
  • Rachel Castevens
  • Rachel Eggleston

The following awards are given during the academic year. The School of Art congratulates these recipients:

William Mangum Artistic Merit Award in Painting


  • Anthony Patterson


  • Emily Clark-Kramer


  • Billy Hawkins


  • Elizabeth Spaulding


  • Chad Greene

Student Excellence Awards


  • Kendall Llewellyn, Art History
  • Anna Rafalowski, Sculpture


  • Paula Damasceno De Oliveira, Photography
  • Jiyoung Park, New Media & Design


  • Linda Kent, Painting
  • Camille Knudsen, Art History
  • Jenna Lacey, Printmaking & Drawing


  • Nicole Given, Art History
  • Sharon Romang, Design

Nicholas Fragola Award


  • Ian Miller


  • Ivana Bogdan

Juni Arante Excellence in Print Award


  • Amanda Dick
  • Jiyoung Park


  • Kei Kato


  • Eddie Mendoza

Funded Undergraduate Residency Opportunities

New York Arts Practicum


  • Alexis Michelle
  • April Rose Miller


  • Sharon Romang


  • Camillo Vergara



  • Anna Rafalowski


  • Mireya Garcia

Salem Art Works


  • Anna Rafalowski
  • John Lucas
  • Christina Rankin
  • Nina Rominger
  • Hanna Baker
  • Danielle Carelock


  • Phillip Short
  • Max Baynes


  • Elizabeth Traub



  • Sydney Lee
  • Lauren Willard
  • John Viar