Guest Presenters

Click on a name below to learn more

Jacques Ogg headshot

JACQUES OGG is a performer on both harpsichord and fortepiano; he teaches at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague; he conducts and he makes recordings, either solo or with friends and colleagues.

He was born in Maastricht (the Netherlands) and studied harpsichord in the city of his birth with Anneke Uittenbosch. In 1970 he went to study with Gustav Leonhardt at the Amsterdam Conservatory from which he graduated in 1974.

Jacques Ogg's current activities include soloconcerts on harpsichord or on fortepiano, concerts with flautist Wilbert Hazelzet as a duo as well as a trio-formation with Jaap ter Linden. He has been a member of the Orchestra of the 18th Century and has performed regularly with Concerto Palatino. He is frequently invited for masterclasses, for instance in Curitiba (Brazil), Vancouver (Canada), Buenos Aires (Argentina), in Mateus (Portugal), Salamanca (Spain) as well as in Cracow (Poland), Prague and Budapest. He was invited as a juror in competitions such as "Bach Wettbewerb" (Leipzig), "Prague Spring" and "Jurow Competition" (USA).

Jacques Ogg is artistic director of the Lyra Baroque Orchestra in Minneapolis/Saint Paul (Minnesota, US).

Close this pane

Christoph Wolff headshot

Christoph Wolff received an Artist Diploma (organ, historical keyboards, conducting) from the Hochschule für Musik Berlin in 1963 and the Dr. Phil. (historical musicology) from the University of Erlangen in 1966; Mus. D. (New England Conservatory, 1999), L.H.D. (Valparaiso, 2002), Dr. Phil. h. c. (Jena-Weimar, 2005). He taught at the University of Erlangen (1963-68), the University of Toronto (1968-70), and Columbia University (1970-76) before joining the Harvard faculty in 1976. At Harvard he served as Chair of the Department of Music (1980-88, 1990-91), Acting Director of the University Library (1991-92), and Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (1992-2000).

Appointed to an honorary professorship at the University of Freiburg, Germany, elected to membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the Saxon Academy of Sciences at Leipzig, and the Akademie für Mozart-Forschung in Salzburg, he currently serves as Director of the Bach-Archiv Leipzig, President of the Commission mixte of the Rèpertoire International des Sources Musicales, and on the Board of the Packard Humanities Institute.

His primary research interests extend to the music from the 17th to the early 19th century, especially to Bach and Mozart studies. Recent publications include Bach: Essays on His Life and Music (1991), Mozart's Requiem (1994), The New Bach Reader (1998), Driven into Paradise: The Musical Migration from Nazi Germany to the United States (1999; ed. with R. Brinkmann), and Music of My Future. The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio (2001; ed. with R. Brinkmann) and Die Orgein J. S. Bachs: Ein Handbuch (2006; with M. Zepf). A recipient of the Dent Medal of the International Musicological Society (1978) the Humboldt Research Prize (1996), and the Bach Prize of the royal Academy of Music (2006), he won the Otto Kinkeldey Award of the American Musicological Society for Johann Sebastian Bach: The Learned Musician (2000), which has been translated into eight languages. Wolff's most recent book is Mozart at the Gateway to His Fortune. Serving the Emperor, 1788-1791.

Close this pane

David Schulenberg headshot

David Schulenberg has been performing and writing about the keyboard music of the Bach family since his college days at Harvard. Now on the faculties of Wagner College and The Juilliard School in New York, he is the author of The Keyboard Music of J. S. Bach and of books on the music of Bach's sons Wilhelm Friedemann and Carl Philipp Emanuel. He has published editions of music by J. S. and C. P. E. Bach, and he can be heard as a performer on harpsichord and fortepiano in recordings of chamber works by Quantz, C. P. E. Bach, and King Frederick "the Great," available on the Naxos, Hungaroton, and Musica Omnia labels. Selections from his writings, editions, and recordings are online at‑schulenberg/.

Close this pane